City of Elyria > Departments > Building > Inspectors and Supporting Staff

Inspectors and Supporting Staff

Administration and Staffing

Kevin A. Brubaker
Senior Manager – Building Department, Building and Lands Department
Administrator of Department Personnel
440.326.1471
kbrubaker@cityofelyria.org

Mary Tomski
Financial/Project Systems Coordinator
Receives, logs, and distributes building plans for plan review; checks and reviews permit applications and supporting documents for proper form, sufficiency of information, and conformance with legal standards; issues permits as authorized.
440.326.1472
mtomski@cityofelyria.org

Jonette Brewer
Secretary – Permit Technician
Receives,  logs, and distributes building plans for plan review; checks and reviews permit applications and supporting documents for proper form, sufficiency of information, and conformance with legal standards; issues permits as authorized.
440.326.1470
jbrewer@cityofelyria.org


Commercial/Residential Building Official and Inspectors

Phillip Lahetta
Chief Building Official – Zoning Administrator – Residential Building Official
Zoning, Fencing, Signage, Adjudications, and Certificates of Occupancy
440.326.1473
plahetta@cityofelyria.org

Darryl Farkas
Building Combination Inspector
Commercial Building Inspector, Footings, Foundations, Slabs, Framing, Final and Special Inspections.
Residential Building Inspector, in addition, Inspector Farkas handles, Plan Review, New Homes and Additions, Garages/Sheds, and Porches/Decks, Fire Repair/Demos and Roofs.
440.326.1480
dfarkas@cityofelyria.org

Braden Thomas, Sr.
Plumbing/Building Combination Inspector
All Plumbing, Commercial HVAC, Plan Review, Waterproofing, Fire Protection Systems and Special Inspections.
440.326.1477
bthomas@cityofelyria.org

Timothy Golden
Electric/Building Combination Inspector
Backup Residential Building Official, All Electrical, Residential HVAC, Pools/Spas, Plan Review, and Special Inspections.
440.326.1481
tgolden@cityofelyria.org


Housing Inspectors

Raymond Langdon
Deputy Housing Inspector 
440.326.1478
rlangdon@cityofelyria.org

Kara Makila
Deputy Housing Inspector 
440.326.1476
kmakila@cityofelyria.org

Terry Sobotka
Deputy Housing Inspector 
440.326.1489
tsobtka@cityofelyria.org

The Deputy Housing Inspectors perform inspections of Houses and Property for Conformance with Applicable Codes pertaining to Litter, Overgrowth, Abandoned Vehicles and Interior and Exterior Building Conditions – They handle Written and Oral Correspondence relative to Code Violations – They work directly with Senior Staff and the Law Department.

In addition, they Maintain Records of Inspections Activities; make Photographic Records of Violations – Prepare or Complete Various Forms, Reports, Correspondence, Logs, Inspection Reports, Notices, Formal Warnings, Citations, Affidavits, and Court Disposition Forms.  They also receive Various Forms, Reports, Correspondence, Inspection Reports, Police/Fire Reports, Newspapers,  Photographs, Maps, Property Records, Legal Documents, Manuals, Codes, Ordinances, Directories, Reference Material, or other Documentation; Reviews, Completes, Processes, Forwards or Retains as Appropriate.