City of Elyria > Departments > Building > Inspectors and Supporting Staff

Inspectors and Supporting Staff

Administration and Staffing

Kevin A. Brubaker
Senior Manager – Building Department
Administrator of Department Personnel
440.326.1471
kbrubaker@cityofelyria.org

De Sanders
Secretary – Permit Technician
Receives, logs, and distributes building plans for plan review; checks and reviews permit applications and supporting documents for proper form, sufficiency of information, and conformance with legal standards; issues permits as authorized.
440.326.1470
dsanders@cityofelyria.org

Mary Tomski
Secretary – Permit Technician
Receives,  logs, and distributes building plans for plan review; checks and reviews permit applications and supporting documents for proper form, sufficiency of information, and conformance with legal standards; issues permits as authorized.
440.326.1472
mtomski@cityofelyria.org


Commercial/Residential Building Official and Inspectors

Phillip Lahetta
Chief Building Official – Zoning Administrator – Residential Building Official
Zoning, Fencing, Signage, Adjudications, and Certificates of Occupancy
440.326.1473
plahetta@cityofelyria.org

Pete Lorandeau
Building Combination Inspector
Commercial Building Inspector, Backup Residential Building Inspector
In addition, Inspector Lorandeau handles, Plan Review, Fire Repair, Demos, Moving, Roofs, Siding/Windows/Doors, and Waterproofing.
440.326.1474
plorandeau@cityofelyria.org

Darryl Farkas
Building Combination Inspector
Commercial Building Inspector, Footings, Foundations, Slabs, Tile and Special Inspections. In addition, Backup Commercial Building Inspector.
Residential Building Inspector, in addition, Inspector Farkas handles, Plan Review, New Homes and Additions, Garages/Sheds, and Porches/Decks.
440.326.1480
dfarkas@cityofelyria.org

Ed Doehne
Plumbing/Building Combination Inspector
All Plumbing, Commercial HVAC, Fire Protection Systems, and Special Inspections.
440.326.1477
edoehne@cityofelyria.org

Timothy Golden
Electric/Building Combinatiuon Inspector
All Electrical, Residential HVAC, Pools/Spas, and Special Inspections.
440.326.1481
tgolden@cityofelyria.org


Housing Inspectors

Raymond Langdon
Deputy Housing Inspector 
440.326.1478
rlangdon@cityofelyria.org

Kara Makila
Deputy Housing Inspector 
440.326.1476
kmakila@cityofelyria.org

Terry Sobotka
Deputy Housing Inspector 
440.326.1489
tsobtka@cityofelyria.org

The Deputy Housing Inspectors perform inspections of Houses and Property for Conformance with Applicable Codes pertaining to Litter, Overgrowth, Abandoned Vehicles and Interior and Exterior Building Conditions – They handle Written and Oral Correspondence relative to Code Violations – They work directly with Senior Staff and the Law Department.

In addition, they Maintain Records of Inspections Activities; make Photographic Records of Violations – Prepare or Complete Various Forms, Reports, Correspondence, Logs, Inspection Reports, Notices, Formal Warnings, Citations, Affidavits, and Court Disposition Forms.  They also receive Various Forms, Reports, Correspondence, Inspection Reports, Police/Fire Reports, Newspapers,  Photographs, Maps, Property Records, Legal Documents, Manuals, Codes, Ordinances, Directories, Reference Material, or other Documentation; Reviews, Completes, Processes, Forwards or Retains as Appropriate.