Select Page

CITY COUNCIL

ANNOUNCEMENTS:
Council meetings to be streamed Live on YouTube

Your Title Goes Here

Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the module Advanced settings.

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Elected Offices
  4.  » City Council

OVERVIEW

Elyria City Council is the City’s legislative body. The popularly elected City Council is responsible for enacting ordinances, imposing taxes, making appropriations, establishing policy, and hiring some city officials. The council adopts the local general plan, zoning, and subdivision ordinance. It consists of 11 elected members – one from each of the seven wards located throughout the city, and four At-Large members. The Mayor and City Council members work collaboratively to serve Elyria.

Elyria City Council seeks to provide, in a democratic and transparent manner, efficient and effective services which will make Elyria a better place in which to live, learn, work and play.

City Council Meetings are held in Council Chambers on the second floor of Elyria City Hall – 131 Court Street. City Council meets on the first and third Mondays of each month, except during summer recess, in which they meet on the first Monday only during the months of June, July and August. City Council members also serve on various committees to address specific aspects of City operation.

CONTACT

City Council Clerk’s Office
Elyria City Hall
131 Court Street, 2nd Floor
Elyria, Ohio 44035
Phone: 440-326-1550

FIND YOUR WARD

Determine your ward and respective council person by entering your address in the search field below. Click the colored overlay for details about your council person and how to contact them. Click the details button on the legend below for map information.

WHO WE ARE

COUNCIL CLERK’S OFFICE

Michael J. Lotko III

Michael J. Lotko III

CLERK OF COUNCIL

105 Whitman Blvd | 440-326-1550 | mlotko@cityofelyria.org

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Andrew C. G. Lipian

Andrew C. G. Lipian

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 1

View Ward 1 Map
614 GARFORD AVE | 216-800-7247 | alipian@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Community Development, and Strategic Planning

Brenda K. Davis

Brenda K. Davis

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 2

View Ward 2 Map
684 Bell Avenue | 440-323-2930 | bdavis@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Finance, Utilities, Safety & Environment Vice-Chair, Strategic Planning

Maurice Corbin III

Maurice Corbin III

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 3

View Ward 3 Map
443 AUGUSTA DRIVE | 440-334-4533 | mcorbin@cityofelyria.org
Committees:  Utilities, Safety & Environment, and Strategic Planning

Kenny Oswald

Kenny Oswald

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 4

View Ward 4 Map
237 Pepperdine Drive | 216-264-0190 | koswald@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Utilities, Safety & Environment, Community Development, and Strategic Planning

Diane Simmons

Diane Simmons

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 5

View Ward 5 Map
1910 Middle Ave. | 440-326-0001 | dsimmons@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Utilities, Safety & Environment and Strategic Planning

Donna Mitchell

Donna Mitchell

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 6

View Ward 6 Map
196 Egret Drive | 440-323-6901 | dmitchell@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Community Development Vice-Chair, Utilities, Safety & Environment Chair, Strategic Planning Vice-Chair

Jack W. Cerra

Jack W. Cerra

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 7

View Ward 7 Map
184 Longfellow Street | 440-365-2854 | jcerra@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Rules Chair/ Finance, and Strategic Planning

COUNCIL-AT-LARGE

Phillip Tollett

Phillip Tollett

Council At Large

121 Overbrook Road | 440-897-4414 | ptollett@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Finance Vice Chair, Rules, Strategic Planning

Victor F. Stewart III

Victor F. Stewart III

PRESIDENT

186 Burns Road | 440-343-4228 | vstewart@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Finance Chair, Strategic Planning Chair

Thomas G. Callahan

Thomas G. Callahan

MAJORITY LEADER

570 Stafford Drive | 440-365-8972 | tcallahan@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Community Development Chair, Rules Vice-Chair, Strategic Planning

Chad Schneider

Chad Schneider

Council at Large

234 Crestview Drive | 440-225-8449 | cschneider@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Finance, Strategic Planning, and Community Developement

X