Select Page

CITY COUNCIL

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Council meetings to be streamed Live on YouTube

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Elected Offices
  4.  » City Council

OVERVIEW

Elyria City Council is the City’s legislative body. The popularly elected City Council is responsible for enacting ordinances, imposing taxes, making appropriations, establishing policy, and hiring some city officials. The council adopts the local general plan, zoning, and subdivision ordinance. It consists of 11 elected members – one from each of the seven wards located throughout the city, and four At-Large members. The Mayor and City Council members work collaboratively to serve Elyria.

Elyria City Council seeks to provide, in a democratic and transparent manner, efficient and effective services which will make Elyria a better place in which to live, learn, work and play.

City Council Meetings are held in Council Chambers on the second floor of Elyria City Hall – 131 Court Street. City Council meets on the first and third Mondays of each month, except during summer recess, in which they meet on the first Monday only during the months of June, July and August. City Council members also serve on various committees to address specific aspects of City operation.

WHO WE ARE

COUNCIL CLERK’S OFFICE

Michael J. Lotko III

Michael J. Lotko III

CLERK OF COUNCIL

105 Whitman Blvd | 440-326-1550 | mlotko@cityofelyria.org

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Judith A. Keys

Judith A. Keys

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 1

View Ward 1 Map
350 Miami Avenue | 440-281-8006 | jkeys@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Utilities, Safety & Environment and Strategic Planning

Brenda K. Davis

Brenda K. Davis

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 2

View Ward 2 Map
684 Bell Avenue | 440-323-2930 | bdavis@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Finance, Utilities, Safety & Environment Vice-Chair, Strategic Planning

Mark N. Jessie

Mark N. Jessie

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 3

View Ward 3 Map
286 Michigan Avenue | 440-322-7766 | mjessie@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Community Development, Finance, Rules and Strategic Planning
Kenny Oswald

Kenny Oswald

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 4

View Ward 4 Map
237 Pepperdine Drive | 216-264-0190 | koswald@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Utilities, Safety & Environment and Strategic Planning

Diane Simmons

Diane Simmons

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 5

Donna Mitchell

Donna Mitchell

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 6

View Ward 6 Map
196 Egret Drive | 440-323-6901 | dmitchell@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Community Development Vice-Chair, Utilities, Safety & Environment Chair, Strategic Planning Vice-Chair
Jack W. Cerra

Jack W. Cerra

COUNCIL MEMBER - WARD 7

View Ward 7 Map
184 Longfellow Street | 440-365-2854 | jcerra@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Community Development, Utilities, Safety & Environment, and Strategic Planning

COUNCIL-AT-LARGE

Phillip Tollett

Phillip Tollett

121 Overbrook Road | 440-310-1484 | ptollett@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Finance, Rules, Strategic Planning

Victor F. Stewart III

Victor F. Stewart III

PRESIDENT

186 Burns Road | 440-343-4228 | vstewart@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Finance Chair, Strategic Planning Chair

Thomas G. Callahan

Thomas G. Callahan

MAJORITY LEADER

570 Stafford Drive | 440-365-8972 | tcallahan@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Community Development, Rules Vice-Chair, Strategic Planning

John (Jack) A. Baird

John (Jack) A. Baird

MINORITY LEADER

237 Miami Avenue | 440-223-1623 | jbaird@cityofelyria.org
Committees: Finance, Strategic Planning

CONTACT

City Council Clerk’s Office
Elyria City Hall
131 Court Street, 2nd Floor
Elyria, Ohio 44035
Phone: 440-326-1550

ELYRIA WARD MAP

elyria ward map
X