Organizational Structure

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE The Elyria Police Department is component of the Safety Service Department of the City of Elyria, and is organized into the Administrative Section and three major Divisions. These Divisions include the Patrol Division, the Investigative Division and the Services Division. All components of this organization shall work in combined effort to accomplish the […]


NEWS RELEASE June 27, 2012 FOR FURTHER INFORMATION FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Mayor Holly Brinda AT:(440) 326-1402     CITY LAUNCHES “RECRUIT THE BLUE” AUXILIARY POLICE CAMPAIGN WANTED – 24 VOLUNTEER OFFICERS AND OUTFITTER SPONSORS   In these challenging economic times, having a stronger volunteer civilian auxiliary police force in Elyria could play a more […]

New Parking Enforcement Agent and Courtesy Notice from EPD

The Elyria Police Department would like to introduce the new Parking Enforcement Agent Dean Arroyo.  PEA Arroyo is a lifetime resident of Lorain County, has been married for 27 years and has two adult sons.  PEA Arroyo graduated from Lorain High School in 1974 then attended LCCC and Notre Dame College.  PEA Arroyo worked for […]


The Elyria Police Department Auxiliary is currently recruiting for the position of Auxiliary Officer. Auxiliary officers are not sworn police officers but they do support the department in the areas of patrol operations, special events and details. Applicants may apply at any point during the year and will be considered an Auxiliary Cadet until […]


About Mayor Holly Brinda  Holly C. Brinda, MPA, was elected to her first four-year term as Mayor of the City of Elyria, Ohio in November 2011 and took office January 1, 2012.  Mayor Brinda serves as the city’s chief administrator and official representative.  She is responsible for the  general management of the City […]

Law Director

Scott F. Serazin is the Law Director of the City of Elyria. Attorney Serazin has thirty five years of legal experience.  The Law Department staff consists of attorneys Amanda R. Deery, Erik A. Breunig, Honey Rothschild, Joe Bott, Scott Strait, Michelle Nedwick, and John R. Keys. Pursuant to Article VII, Section 7.03 of the City […]